News: TO POST YOUR WORK CLICK THE 'OBJECT WRITING' TAB AND SELECT 'NEW TOPIC'
or 'REPLY'" AND ADD YOUR WRITING TO AN EXISTING TOPIC.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: The Pat Pattison method  (Read 32021 times)
Paul
Administrator

View Profile WWW
« on: January 05, 2008, 02:00:28 AM »

I recently have done a couple of seminars with Pat Pattison of Berklee Music College, which, to put it bluntly, made me wonder what I have been doing with my songwriting for the last 25 years!

Pat’s seminars showed me that there is a structure and form that can be applied to songwriting  in a recipe like way. Not to say each cake will be the same though!

During one session Pat said that after he’d written his first 15 songs the next one sounded just a little like #3 or the theme was the same as #9. In other words he was moving around in the same old circle- something I think I have done for way to many years.

One of the reasons for this is that we only have so many ‘conscious’ experiences we can choose from. But when we explore other ways of finding inspiration or ‘the muse’ some unexpected ideas are thrown up, and this is the great thing that Pat’s teaching has opened me too.

OBJECT WRITING

If you have a look through the object writing category, you might think I’m a bit crazy but…..what is it?

In his book Writing Better Lyrics Pat suggests the use of Object writing as a tool to loosen up the creative flow. In his words we need to become  divers seeking pearls at the bottom of the sea of our experience. Let’s look at it this way; If you were to lift a 5 kilogram weight one week then a 10 kilo weight the next then fiteeen and twenty, you could probably accomplish it with reasonable ease - you are exercising and toning your muscle.

If you were not used to lifting 20 Kilograms and someone said ‘do it’- you might not be able to do it, or do some sort of muscle damage in the process.